Days of December Adoption Special

Days of December Adoption Special logo

The day of the month equaled the adoption fee for all pets six months and older, from December 1 - 31, 2016.  Thanks to your support, 273 pets found homes for the holidays during the December adoption special.

This means you could adopt a cat or dog for $1 on December 1st, for $2 on December 2nd, and so on through the end of the month.

License fees also apply to Multnomah County adopters, in addition to the promotional adoption fee.

 

 

There are several days when the shelter was closed to adoptions, and the promotional adoption fee wasn't available.  Multnomah County Animal Services closed at 2 pm on Saturday, December 24, and CLOSED on Sunday, December 25 and Monday, December 26.  The shelter also closed at 2 pm on December 31.  There were also several weather related closures in 2016, including December 8, 9, and 15.

Are pets valued less when adoption fees are lowered or waived?

Multnomah County Animal Services is committed to finding good homes for the animals in our care, and recent studies endorsed by the ASPCA confirm that dramatically reducing adoption fees doesn't affect the love or longevity of an adopter’s relationship with their adopted pets.

(sources)

Is it ok to adopt a pet as a gift?

ASPCA research by Dr. Emily Weiss recently found there is no correlation between getting an animal as a gift and an owner's love and attachment to the pet – even if that pet was a surprise gift – and no increased risk of relinquishment for dogs and cats received as gifts.​

(sources)

 


Adoption Updates

In 2016, our December adoption special resulted in 182 cats, 82 dogs, 2 rabbits, 5 rodents, and 2 birds being adopted, for a total of 273 adoptions, and a 48% adoption increase over the prior month (184).

In 2015, our December adoption special resulted in 135 cats, 81 dogs, 9 rabbits, 3 rodents, and 2 birds being adopted, for a total of 230 adoptions, and a 34% adoption increase over the prior month (172).  

Below is a chart of our daily adoption updates in 2016.  You helped more animals find homes for the holidays!

Day Cats Dogs Rabbits Rodents Birds
Thursday, December 01, 2016 9 6 1 2  
Friday, December 02, 2016 8 4      
Saturday, December 03, 2016 10 2 1    
Sunday, December 04, 2016 4 4      
Monday, December 05, 2016 10 4      
Tuesday, December 06, 2016 12 4      
Saturday, December 10, 2016 13 7      
Sunday, December 11, 2016 8 5      
Monday, December 12, 2016 6 4      
Tuesday, December 13, 2016 8 2   1  
Friday, December 16, 2016 6 4      
Saturday, December 17, 2016 5 4      
Sunday, December 18, 2016 2 1      
Monday, December 19, 2016 0 1      
Tuesday, December 20, 2016 15 2      
Wednesday, December 21, 2016 1 0      
Thursday, December 22, 2016 9 7      
Friday, December 23, 2016 13 3      
Saturday, December 24, 2016 7 1      
Monday, December 26, 2016 2 1   2  
Tuesday, December 27, 2016 2 2      
Wednesday, December 28, 2016 0 1      
Thursday, December 29, 2016 17 9      
Friday, December 30, 2016 12 1      
Saturday, December 31, 2016 3 3     2
Subtotals 182 82 2 5 2
           
Total Animals Adopted 273        

The Days of December Adoption Special is part of the Home 4 the Holidays campaign to find good homes for as many pets as possible before the end of the year. Throughout the duration of Home 4 the Holidays (October 1, 2016, to January 2, 2017) when adopters from Home 4 the Holidays partner organizations tag newly adopted pet photos with the hashtag #IChoseToRescue and tag @hwac and @bluebuffalo on Twitter or Instagram, they will be entered to win a year’s supply of Blue Buffalo pet food for their pet and a $1,000 donation to the organization they adopted from. Not on Twitter or Instagram? Not to worry, adopters can post their newly adopted pet right to the #IChoseToRescue Challenge.